Home » Political Maps » Cuba political map

Cuba political map

Cuba is the largest country by land area in the Caribbean. It is situated in the western West Indies, south of Florida and The Bahamas, north of the Caribbean Sea with Jamaica and the Cayman Islands. Cuba shares maritime borders with The Bahamas, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, and the United States. The country has a rich history and culture that is reflected in its political system.

Overview of Cuba political map

Cuba political map is available for download on blankmapsrepo.com. The map comes in black and white and has no labels. It is available in PDF, SVG, and PNG formats all in a zip file. The map shows the boundary of each province. Each province has its own capital city, including Havana, which is the country’s capital city.

Political divisions of Cuba

Cuba is divided into 15 provinces and one special municipality. The provinces are further divided into municipalities. The provinces are:

  • Artemisa
  • Camagüey
  • Ciego de Ávila
  • Cienfuegos
  • Granma
  • Guantánamo
  • Holguín
  • Isla de la Juventud (special municipality)
  • La Habana (Havana)
  • Las Tunas
  • Matanzas
  • Mayabeque
  • Pinar del Río
  • Sancti Spíritus
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Villa Clara

Each province has its own capital city.

History of Cuba’s political system

Cuba has a long history of political turmoil. The country was first colonized by Spain in 1492. It gained independence from Spain in 1902 but remained under US influence until 1959 when Fidel Castro led a revolution that overthrew the US-backed government. Since then, Cuba has been a socialist state with a planned economy.

The country is governed by the Communist Party of Cuba (PCC). The PCC is the only legal political party in Cuba. The party controls all aspects of Cuban life including the media, education, and healthcare.