Home » Political Maps » United States political map

United States political map

Blank political map of the USA

A blank political map of the United States is an image of the US map that does not include any labels, names, or other information printed on it. It is simply a map of the US showing the 50 states and the District of Colombia. The map allows for a clear view of the state boundaries without any other distractions. In addition, the blank political map can be a great learning tool for junior pupils to learn about the different states of the US. A learner can color the map or test their memory by naming the different states.

Administrative divisions of the USA

The United States of America consists of 50 states and the District of Columbia. Each state has its own government, laws, and taxes. The federal government is responsible for matters that affect the entire country, such as foreign policy, immigration, defense, and interstate commerce.

Each state also has its own local governments, such as counties and municipalities. The seat of governance for a state resides in the state’s capital.

Counties are further divided into cities, townships, and other administrative units. These units are responsible for services like education, public safety, transportation, and more.

List of US states

Here is a list of the 50 US states in alphabetical order:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Illinois
  14. Indiana
  15. Iowa
  16. Kansas
  17. Kentucky
  18. Louisiana
  19. Maine
  20. Maryland
  21. Massachusetts
  22. Michigan
  23. Minnesota
  24. Mississippi
  25. Missouri
  26. Montana
  27. Nebraska
  28. Nevada
  29. New Hampshire
  30. New Jersey
  31. New Mexico
  32. New York
  33. North Carolina
  34. North Dakota
  35. Ohio
  36. Oklahoma
  37. Oregon
  38. Pennsylvania
  39. Rhode Island
  40. South Carolina
  41. South Dakota
  42. Tennessee
  43. Texas
  44. Utah
  45. Vermont
  46. Virginia
  47. Washington
  48. West Virginia
  49. Wisconsin
  50. Wyoming

The District of Colombia or Washington D.C. is not a state but a federal district. It is located on the east coast of the United States and is bordered by Maryland and Virginia. It is the nation’s capital and home to all three branches of the U.S. government.

List of US overseas territories

Overseas territories are certain regions that are politically associated with a sovereign state but do not form part of that state. These regions may have their own government and laws, though decisions such as foreign policy and defense often remain the responsibility of the parent country. The United States has 14 overseas territories, namely:

  1. American Samoa
  2. Guam
  3. Northern Mariana Islands
  4. Puerto Rico
  5. US Virgin Islands
  6. Wake Island
  7. Baker Island
  8. Howland Island
  9. Jarvis Island
  10. Johnston Atoll
  11. Kingman Reef
  12. Midway Islands
  13. Navassa Island
  14. Palmyra Atoll

Is the United States political map free?

Yes, the United States political map is free to download from this website. To save the map on your computer, click on the download button. This should give you access to a zip file containing the map.

Available map formats

The map comes in three formats: SVG, PDF, and PNG. The SVG map is useful for editing and embedding into websites. The PDF map is great for printing, while the PNG is best for use in programs such as Photoshop or adding directly to your blog or website.

How can you use the political map of the United States?

This map resource can be used by researchers to create detailed statistical maps. Also, web developers can make use of the SVG map to create interactive maps on the browser. In addition, the map can be used for educational purposes by creating quizzes for students since it comes in plain black and white.