Home » Political Maps » Antigua and Barbuda political map

Antigua and Barbuda political map

What is a blank political map of Antigua and Barbuda?

A blank political map of Antigua and Barbuda is a vector image without English labeling or complex geographical features. The photo illustrates political divisions or man-made boundaries for the purpose of administering various regions of the country. Much of the details have been omitted leaving a simplified blank map. Antigua and Barbuda is made up of eight administrative divisions which comprise six parishes and two dependencies.

How to print this vector illustration

When you want to print the vector illustration of the blank map of Antigua and Barbuda, you must first download it in pdf format.

  • After downloading the zip file, open the PDF map.
  • From the toolbar, select the print icon.
  • Using the PDF document dialog box, choose your paper printer from the drop-down menu and select the Print Range, including the number of copies you wish to print.
  • To print the page, click OK once you have made your selections.

How to edit the map

From the three formats of royalty-free maps available on the blank maps repo, SVG can be used to edit maps. Vector graphics such as SVG maps can be edited with tools such as Adobe Illustrator, Corel Draw, and Inkscape. Other than these tools, there are some authentic online platforms where you can edit your maps. It is impossible to ruin the quality of the free maps available on the blank maps repo by editing them because they are so high quality and high resolution.

Administrative divisions

Currently, as our map shows, the first-level administrative units of Antigua are divided into six parishes: St George, St John, St Mary, St Paul, St Peter, and St Philip, and two dependent islands, the islands of Barbuda and Redonda. This makes a total of eight administrative divisions.

Antigua and Barbuda’s second-level administrative divisions are called Major Divisions. It is possible to identify which Major Division an enumeration district belongs to by its number. In total, there are 60 major divisions in Antigua and Barbuda.

What is the capital

St. Johns is the capital and most important port of Antigua and Barbuda, a Caribbean island nation. There are more than 22,000 people living in St. Johns, and it is the largest city in the country of Antigua and Barbuda.

The political structure of Antigua and Barbuda

A multiparty parliamentary democracy exists in Antigua and Barbuda. In Antigua and Barbuda, the government is parliamentary, based on the British system. An appointed Governor General represents the British monarch as Antigua’s head of state. The government is structured into three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial.  In addition to exercising executive power, the government also has legislative power. It is not only the government but also the two chambers of Parliament that have legislative authority. There is an independent judiciary that operates separately from the executive and the legislature. English common law forms the basis of jurisprudence.

Antigua and Barbuda independence

During the 1940s, a powerful labor movement led by V.C. Bird fueled the independence movement. Antigua became an associated state of the Commonwealth in 1967, and it became an independent state in 1981, with Barbuda and Redonda functioning as dependencies. Queen Elizabeth became Antigua and Barbuda’s first Queen and Vere Cornwall Bird its first Prime Minister when Antigua and Barbuda joined the Commonwealth of Nations on November 1, 1981.

The constitution of Antigua and Barbuda

The Constitution of Antigua and Barbuda was adopted on November 1, 1981. There are 127 sections in the Antigua and Barbuda Constitution, divided into ten chapters. A major provision of the Barbuda Constitution is the expansion of fundamental human rights, as well as recognition and guarantees for opposition parties in government and a significant measure of internal autonomy. Every citizen is guaranteed fundamental rights under the Constitution, regardless of race, place of origin, opinion, affiliation, color, or gender. The Constitution guarantees life, liberty, and the protection of property, people, and privacy, as well as the right to speak, associate, and worship for everyone.

Ethnic groups within the country

Approximately 87% of Antigua and Barbuda’s population is black. The majority of the black population in Antigua and Barbuda are descendants of African slaves. The mixed-race population makes up 4.87 percent of the total population. Among the total population of the country, only 1.65% are white. Small populations from the Middle East and Asia also comprise 6.35 percent of the population.